About MELT (Multilingual Readers‘ Theatre)


The project aims at developing a multilingual guided reading program to improve reading fluency as well as reading motivation in all languages for pupils in grades 6, 7 and 8. The didactic-methodological design developed for this purpose addresses three key issues in language teaching didactics and foreign language didactics.

Lesetheaterskript InformationResults of major reading performance studies over the past decade have shown that in the countries involved in this project large deficits in reading skills exist for both languages of instruction as well as foreign languages being learned, particularly at the lower secondary school level.

Lesetheaterskript InformationInstead of isolated language learning, a stronger network of school language and foreign language instruction should be promoted. However, only a few specific proposals exist as to how the multilingual repertoire of pupils can be used in reading instruction.

Lesetheaterskript InformationThe promotion of individual multilingualism is a declared objective of the European Union education policy: At least 75% of all secondary school pupils should learn (study) at least two foreign languages.

Unlike conventional theatrical productions in which scripts are memorized and then acted out, in Readers’ Theatre the dramatic texts are divided into smaller units and then allocated to the pupils who then read them aloud, using only their voices and facial expressions to convey meaning. As the main focus of Readers’ Theatre is on reading aloud, Readers’ Theatre is used in school contexts – particularly in the U.S. – as a successful method for increasing reading fluency and reading motivation. In the European region, Readers’ Theatre is scarcely known as a means of promoting reading. In addition, no Reading Theatre scripts with multiple language roles exist.

MELT is a project supported by the new European Erasmus+ funding program

EU-flag-Erasmus__web

Über das mehrsprachige Lesetheater (MELT)


Das Projekt erarbeitet eine mehrsprachige Lesefördermaßnahme, um sprachenübergreifend sowohl die Leseflüssigkeit als auch die Lesemotivation von Schülerinnen und Schülern von 6./.7. und 8. Klassen zu erhöhen. Das didaktisch-methodische Design, das hierfür entwickelt wird, reagiert auf drei zentrale Probleme und Forderungen im Bereich der Schul- und Fremdsprachendidaktik:

Lesetheaterskript Information Die Ergebnisse der großen Leseleistungsstudien der letzten Dekade haben aufgezeigt, dass es insbesondere in der Sekundarstufe I in den Projektländern große Defizite in der Lesekompetenz in Schul- und Fremdsprache gibt.

Lesetheaterskript InformationAnstelle eines isolierten Sprachenlernens soll der Unterricht in der Schul- und den Fremdsprachen stärker vernetzt werden. Dennoch gibt es bisher nur wenige konkrete Vorschläge dafür, wie das mehrsprachige Repertoire von Schülerinnen und Schülern im Leseunterricht genutzt werden kann.

Lesetheaterskript InformationDie Förderung der individuellen Mehrsprachigkeit ist ein erklärtes Ziel der EU-Bildungspolitik: Mindestens 75 % der Schülerinnen und Schüler der Sekundarstufe I sollen mindestens zwei Fremdsprachen lernen.

Während bei herkömmlichen Theaterinszenierungen dramatische Texte normalerweise frei rezitiert werden, werden beim Lesetheater Texte in verteilten Rollen szenisch vorgelesen. Da beim Lesetheater das Hauptaugenmerk auf dem lauten Lesen liegt, wird Lesetheater im schulischen Kontext – insbesondere im US-amerikanischen Raum – u. a. als Methode zur Steigerung der Leseflüssigkeit und Lesemotivation eingesetzt. Im europäischen Raum ist Lesetheater als Lesefördermaßnahme kaum bekannt. Darüber hinaus existieren bisher keine Lesetheater, die die Verwendung mehrerer Sprachen vorsehen.

MELT ist ein Projekt, das durch das neue europäische Förderprogramm Erasmus+ finanziert wird.
EU-flag-Erasmus__web